Can You Hear the Plants Speak? (Hardcover)

You have found our old website- this site no longer works! Please go to www.InkwoodNJ.com to shop - Thanks!

Pre-Order Now Badge
Can You Hear the Plants Speak? By Nicholas Hummingbird, Madelyn Goodnight (Illustrator), Julia Wasson Cover Image
$19.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Our people believe spirit lives in everything.

Mountain, river, wind, tree.                                                                                                               

Come, take a walk with me.

What do we learn from plants when we listen to them speaking? Indigenous plantsman Nicholas Hummingbird calls on the legacy of his great-grandparents to remember how one drop of rain, one seed, one plant can renew a cycle of hope and connection—for him and for each of us.

Perfect for readers of Sy Montgomery, debut authors Nicholas Hummingbird and Julia Wasson joyfully proclaim even the youngest person can be an earth protector. With gorgeous illustrations from Rock Your Mocs artist Madelyn Goodnight, Can You Hear the Plants Speak? encourages us to engage with the natural world.

About the Author


Nicholas Hummingbird is a native plant expert and plant activist. When Nicholas was a child, his Cahuilla and Apache great-grandparents taught him to listen to plants and how to steward their lands wisely and with respect. Today he keeps their memories and stories alive through his work restoring habitat and bringing nature back to concrete urban spaces. He and his young son, Tuhui, whose name means the first drop of rain, enjoy hiking, cooking, and reading picture books. Nicholas lives in Ventura, California. Visit him at nicholashummingbird.com.



Madelyn Goodnight is a member of the Chickasaw Nation. Her work reflects her love of childhood. She holds a degree from Rhode Island School of Design and lives in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. She is the illustrator of The Pear Tree; Look, Grandma! Ni, Elisi!; and Rock Your Mocs.



Julia Wasson is an educator and curriculum designer. She and her husband tend a small native plant garden on their Hollywood curb strip. Their adult children live nearby. See more online at juliawassonbooks.com.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063221284
ISBN-10: 0063221284
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 40
Language: English

User login