Lily and Dunkin (Library Binding)

Lily and Dunkin Cover Image
Currently Unavailable
Call or Email Store For Availability

Description


NAMED  ONE OF THE BEST KIDS BOOKS OF THE YEAR by NPR  • New York Public Library • JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION • GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS

Celebrate Pride every day with this award-winning author's compelling story about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful journey, perfect for fans of Wonder, will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.

About the Author


Donna Gephart’s award-winning novels are packed with humor and heart. They include Death by Toilet Paper; Olivia Bean, Trivia Queen; How to Survive Middle-School; and As if Being 12-3/4 Isn’t Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President! Donna is a popular speaker at schools, conferences, and book festivals. For reading guides, resources, writing tips, and more, visit donnagephart.com.

Praise For…


One of YALSA's Best Fiction for Young Adults
One of YALSA's Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
One of ALA's Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
Rainbow Awards Winner of Best Transgender Book 
An Indie Next Pick


"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion." —Kirkus

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention." —Booklist, starred review

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.” —PW

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole... This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages." —VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553536751
ISBN-10: 0553536753
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English

User login